Curiosity Cabinets

Here are the latest pieces in my “curiosity cabinet” series. They’re constructed in old index card files and meant to invoke a feeling of slight unease. I love creepy things! I was on a scary movie kick for several weeks to help feed into this but I’m taking a breather now and working on my photography and jewelry for awhile. I’ve been taking part in a weekly show called “made local” where I sell photos and jewelry so that’s a nice change of pace to kick off the summer.

Remedy

Remedy

Remedy

Remedy (side view)

Sacred Secret

Sacred Secret

Sacred Secret

Sacred Secret (side view)

Don't Ask

Don’t Ask

Don't Ask

Don’t Ask (side view)

Alias

Alias

Alias

Alias (side view)

This entry was published on July 7, 2014 at 11:33 pm and is filed under My Art. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Curiosity Cabinets

  1. Pat Scheible on said:

    Love your sewing machine drawers! Do you cover them with glass or plexi? I always worry about dust and little fingers. I’m finishing a rare “open” assemblage because I can’t figure out how to cover it, but it makes me nervous. Keep ’em coming!
    Pat

    • Curious City Art on said:

      Hi Pat,
      Thanks very much for your comment. There have been a few pieces in which I used plexiglass but mostly I don’t cover my pieces. I want people to be able to touch the contents if they’re so inclined (at least once they’ve purchased it). 🙂
      Is your work online? I’d love to see it.
      Rosemarie

Leave a Reply

